Urban Green Life: Creating a Cozy Atmosphere

CAM00044

By: Chloe Williams

There is nothing as enticing as a warm, cozy bedroom when the weather cools down. True coziness stimulates all five sense, so a truly cozy room should do the same. In order to create a cozy atmosphere, you must first decide what cozy feels like to you. To me, coziness is when I feel warm, content, and secure. I based my room around that feeling. I then broke down what made me feel that way using the five senses.

Sight:

  • Pinecones – pinecones remind me  of the change of season and give me the sudden urge to curl up in bed.

  • Pillows – I’m just drawn to beds with abundances of pillows. They’re just begging to be sunken into.

  • Photos of significant other – seeing the face of a loved one induces that warm, fuzzy feeling inside.

  • Knitting: thick cable knits of a blanket or my own basic purling makes me feel ceaselessly comfy and cozy.

Sound:

  • Billie Holiday – All of Me

  • Death Cab for Cutie – I Will Follow You Into the Dark

  • Bon Iver – Holocene

  • Miles Davis – Seven Steps to Heaven

  • Anything by Frank Sinatra or Harry Connick Jr.

Smell

  • Scented pine cones – you can find these at your local craft store; their look and cinnamon scent are an instant reminder of fall.

  • Cloves – there’s just a little bit of autumn with every whiff.

  • Pumpkin Spice – I think this one speaks for itself.

Touch:

  • Yarn – yarn, in my opinion, is the coziest material of all time.

  • Blankets – getting snug under covers is what the cooler seasons are all about.

  • Book pages – I always associate that coarse feel of book pages against my fingertips with being warm in bed.

  • Warm mugs – heating up your hands with a nice cup of tea or cocoa is a must during winter and fall.

Taste

  • Warm drinks – matcha , chai, hot chocolate, and coffee are great to sip on to stay warm as it gets cold.

  • Candies – hard candies like butterscotch and caramel taste how being cozy feels.

Once you have your list, try putting some (or all!) of those elements into your room. Then, tell us some things that made it on your cozy list. Look out for our cute, cozy mason jar candle tutorial !

CAM00007

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

